Field Day 2024

All, Please join us this Saturday and Sunday, 22 and 23 June, as we take to the air waves for Field Day 2024. Set up will begin at 12:00 noon on Saturday at the EMA (where our meeting are held). Plan to be there the entire 27 hours, with a nap of course. There will be plenty of opportunity to get on the air, learn about amateur radio, and fellowship. I will be bringing a grill, burgers, hot dogs and buns for a evening cookout around 5 or 6. Bring your favorite side dish, chips, or drinks. Bring some to share if you like. If you can’t stay and play radio, at least stop by when you have time.

Balloon and Kite Festival

For you early risers come join us for some ham radio fun this Saturday June 8th at 5:30 am. We will have the opportunity to track the balloons if they fly weather permitting using APRS at the Kite & Balloon Festival. We will meeting on the south side of the west campgrounds at the Missouri State Fair on Clarendon Rd. Doc (W3MEB) will begin with a briefing around 6am on what the organizers would like us to do. Even if you do not have APRS this will be a great way to learn about it and do what we like to do with ham radio (have fun). We will also be running a special net on our 2 meter repeater during the exercise. If they do not fly because of the weather we will still conduct an exercise and explore our capabilities. All members are welcome and encouraged to be there.


Primary Image for W0R

WØR Special Event

Scott Joplin International Ragtime Festival

Special Event June 1st 2024

Call-Sign WØR – Whiskey Zero Ragtime

10am-4pm Central Time

1600-2200 UTC

The Sedalia-Pettis Amateur Radio Klub WA0SDO  is proud to bring you the special event station WØR celebrating the Scott Joplin Ragtime Festival: 

Join us in Sedalia, Missouri as we celebrate the musical genius who gave us the Maple Leaf Rag. Visit with the talented performers, and those who appreciate their talent, in a place where America’s music began. The multi-day festival is packed with rattling good fun, paid concerts feature Festival Favorites, the free open-air venues downtown with up-and-coming ragtime performers. More festival info

The WØR special event station will be operating on site Saturday June 1, 2024 from about 10am-4pm or later Central, 1600-2200 UTC on SSB on all open bands.  A VHF station is also planned.  For a physical QSL card please request through WØVK@ARRL.NET, We will Verify contacts through our log and you will receive a customized QSL card.

The Sedalia-Pettis Amateur Radio Klub, callsign WAØSDO, is a group of amateur radio enthusiasts located in Sedalia Missouri. Our mission is serving others by promoting amateur radio in the community and providing the training and support required to become an amateur radio operator. We “have fun, play radio, and keep the squelch loose”.  More information can be obtained at



May Event –  Knob Noster State Park

May 18th

9am – 11 ish

clusterEA – Ref. MAPs

Come Join us!!  

  • We have Monthly Parks On The Air Events from April through October
  • We host POTA events each month at some of the Most Awesome Parks in Central Missouri. Come hang out, Get on the air, Learn something new!!
  • See you there!!

Broadcastify Down

I took a direct lightning strike at ~3:30 this AM and my Internet is no more. Therefore, the Broadcastify streamer is down for this evening’s net and probably won’t be back up until sometime Tuesday.

All else seems to have survived damage, except maybe for some stains on the sheets and claw marks on the ceiling! Direct strikes are very scary to say the least. The flash that leaves spots in your eyes through closed eyelids and the boom that happens at the same instant are unforgettable.

Anyway,  the Broadcastify stream will be back up as soon as possible.

Chris – KC0TKS



Your opportunity to play some HF radio next Saturday April 13th at the KATY Depot. We will be doing a POTA activation at the Caboose. Starts at 9am. Special congrats go out to Stanley P. who after our April meeting passed the Technician test. Lots of things coming up in the next few months so please plan on attending the next meeting on May 4th at the Pettis County EOC located at 1511 N. Ohio in Sedalia beginning at 8:30 am.